REVIEW: Onda V10 4G a 10.1″ tablet with Mediatek MT6753 Octa core SoC

1
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

We present thanks to the collaboration of the Gearbest store our review for the Onda V10 4G tablet, a model that has a 10.1 inch IPS screen with 1920×1200 resolution in 16:10 format. A model that has interesting features for his price, among these features we highlight the inclusion of a 4G modem, GPS and Radio. A tablet powered by a Mediatek MT6753 Octa Core SoC that also includes 2GB of RAM and a 32GB of internal storage. Let us see throughout our detailed review how this tablet performs in front of its direct competition.

  • Onda V10 4G Octa Core can be buy at Gearbest.com only for $113.99 with shipping costs included

SPECIFICATIONS

ModelOnda V10 4G
CPUMediatek MT6753 Octa core Cortex A-53 1,3GHz
GPUMali-T720
OSAndroid 7.0 (64bit)
FormatTablet
Battery3.7V / 6000mAh
Weight17.28 Oz
Dimensions9.45 x 7.48 x 0.33 inches
Screen10,1″
1920 x 1200 /  16:10
multi-touch de 10 puntos
RAM2GB LPDDR3
Storage32GB
Wifiac 2.4/5GHz
Bluetooth4.0
Modem2G: GSM 850/900/1800/1900MHz
3G: B1 2100MHz, B2 1900MHz, B5 850MHz, B8 900MHz
4G: B1 2100MHz, B3 1800MHz, B7 2600MHz, TD-LTE Band 38/39/40/41
GPSYes
RadioYes
PortsmicroUSB (data/charge)
jack 3,5″ in/out
microSD
2x SIM
Multimedia2MP Front camera
5MP Rear camera
Microphone
2x mono speakers
 SensorsAcelerometer
Vibration
ContentManual
microUSB to USB wire

CONTENT DESCRIPTION

Package content

The Onda V10 4G tablet comes in a cardboard box with references to the Onda V series and an image of the model, inside we find the tablet with a protector installed by default, in a small box we have the manual and the micro-USB to USB cable.

Product Details

The Onda V10 4G tablet is made out of plastic and aluminium in gold color, it has external dimensions of 240×190×8.3 mm and a weight of only 490g which makes it quite light. The front area has small bezels on the sides and are large at the top and bottom, at the top we can see the 2 MP camera. The general construction is correct but when you pick it up it makes noises because it does not have a very rigid body, the screen is not laminated and the separation of the screen is quite clear.

 

On one side of the Onda V10 4G we have the audio jack connector that allows to connect headphones and microphone, a micro-USB OTG connector that also allows electric charge, power and lock button, volume and a microphone.

In the upper back we have the other 5 MP camera with led flash and a compartment with a lid that when disassembling allows us to see the slot for micro-SD cards and the two SIM cards we can mount.

In the lower rear area we can see the two speakers with slots for sound playback, in the stickers that we have on the plastic protector we can read the IMEI number of the integrated modem

Screen

The Onda V10 4G screen has a size of 10.1 inches and is in 16:10 format, which is ideal for viewing multimedia content such as movies, the screen resolution is 1920×1200 pixels which gives us a density of 240 DPI. The display supports up to 10 simultaneous tactile points, although the accuracy and feel is not the best we have tested but it complies for normal use.

The illumination of the screen has a correct power although outdoors as it happens in all this range of products we will not see much, we recommend to use it indoors or in places that are not extremely luminous, if we adjust it to a medium level it will look good.

If we are in an environment with low illumination the screen looks great, the colors are vivid and the angles quite correct, certainly one of the best points of this screen to be a low price model.

The angles of vision behave normally and only if we put the tablet in an uncomfortable position we lose vision of the image, in the classic reading angles we will not have problems, no light leaks in the frame. Within the system settings of the Onda V10 4G we find an interesting section called MiraVision that allows us to fine-tune the image quality, exclusive options of this product based on this family of Mediatek SoC. We have Contrast, Saturation, Brightness, Sharpness, Color Temperature and Dynamic Contrast controls for video, very complete settings.

Cameras, speakers and microphone

In the back area as we have seen, we have a 5 MP camera with flash that gives us correct results for this type of low end cameras, the flash is somewhat anecdotal because of the results it gives us, we also have adjustments HDR that give a synthetic tone to the image and we recommend to use it only for artistic photos.

The 2MP front camera is a nasty experience, everything looks a rather awful brown color and the image quality is very low, it also has a lens distortion that can make us dizzy easily, it only serves for basic videoconferencing.

START UP

System

By pressing the Onda V10 4G tablet’s power button for a few seconds the device starts up with the ONDA logo in the background, the Android desktop is displayed within seconds. We are facing a very clean system version with no applications that annoy us, the default launcher is very basic but we can change it by whichever we want.

  • Start up time: 19 seconds

We have the top notification bar, modifiable thanks to Android 7, in this area we also have the screen brightness control that should be left in the middle so that it does not drain the battery, we also have lower bar with the basic options.

As we see in the list of installed applications we have the system with fair applications by default, we have installed Google Play that works correctly, an application for FM radio and direct access to the phone function.

User experience

The Onda V10 4G tablet system works quite fast thanks to the Octa Core Mediatek MT6756 SoC, the Android 7.0 system has controls to handle the user environment comfortably. The application loading is quite fast and works in a stable way without forced closures, the multitasking system manages the applications correctly allowing us to change them in an agile way. In general a tablet for a general use that does not present any inconvenience thanks to the hardware specifications that are assembled as we will see in the tests.

GPS, Modem and Radio

As we have seen in the specifications of the Onda V10 4G we have GPS, we only have to activate the location in Android settings and use any app to locate us as Google Maps. Detection is fairly quick and accurate.

Another interesting point of this model is the 4G modem mounted in this tablet, as we see in the list of bands we have a wide range that allows us to connect them in any region, plus we have the option to connect two SIM cards.

  • 2G: GSM 850/900/1800 / 1900MHz
  • 3G: B1 2100MHz, B2 1900MHz, B5 850MHz, B8 900MHz
  • 4G: B1 2100MHz, B3 1800MHz, B7 2600MHz, TD-LTE Band 38/39/40/41

In the default radio FM app we have a basic funcions that works correctly, we can scan the frequencies of our zone and to save in shortcuts of our favourite stations. It is necessary to connect external headphones to operate the radio even with the internal speakers.

System Settings

As we can see in the Onda V10 4G the system settings are the ones that come by default with Android 7.0, we do not find any layer of customization or special options to configure any specific section of hardware. As a curious fact we find a setting for automatic turn on and off, something that allows us to control it so that it only turns on at the specific times of use and save some battery.

Android System

As an operating system on the Onda V10 4G tablet we have installed Android 7.0. The kernel is not the most modern in the world since it is based on version 3.18.35 with compilation date 06-09-2017. This is the version with which we will perform the review.

Brand Support

The brand Onda has in its Chinese website a download page where we can find the firmware of this model which can help us to recover it from some disaster, the option of updating by OTA does not seem to work and possibly will never work. We have to take into account the version number of our tablet which is the ninth and tenth number of the serial number that we see on the back of the tablet or in the system settings> State of the tablet> compilation number, we must use the exact version.

Google Play and Amazon Apps Store

We have Google play store correctly installed, we found some of the most common apps without major compatibility problems. With the Amazon App Store same result, a good alternative to Google’s monopoly in this regard.

Root

In the Onda V10 4G system we verified that we do NOT have root by default, something that limits us in some options but will not affect to us services like for example Netflix or Amazon Prime Video as we will see in our review in the corresponding section.

HARDWARE TEST

Storage and RAM

We ran our usual tests to the memory and internal storage in Onda V10 4G using the SD bench app that gives us some pretty good figures as we can see, a point that is noticed when running apps and installing them.

Inside the Onda V10 4G tablet we have a total of 32GB of eMMc storage memory, from this storage memory we have actually available about 24GB, a fairly generous figure to install heavy applications without complications. Integrated in the plate we have 2 GB of RAM LPDDR3 that behave normally, of this amount we have available about 1.8 GB in a usual way which allows us to open several apps or tabs of our internet browser.

Battery

Inside the Onda V10 4G we have a battery of 6000 mAh, the autonomy is correct if we do not demand high performance to the CPU and with medium screen brightness. With a low use where we have low brightness and reproduce video we get about 7 hours, if we make an average use browsing with several tabs and using YouTube we can reach the 5.5 hours, with an intensive use of games and high brightness we get about 3 hours depending a lot on the use of the GPU.

In standby mode the consumption of the battery is very low and can last us days, the recharge with a good charger is quite fast and in 1.5 hours we can have the battery recharged. Within the battery settings we find the DuraSpeed option that allows us to block background applications system restrictively and allow some of them to make notifications, an interesting point to limit abusive apps.

WIFI

At the network level in the Onda V10 4G we have a wireless Dual Band ac Wi-Fi adapter with which we connected an ASUS RT-AC1200G+ router, a mid-range device. We performed tests in the use of streaming using the iPerf measurement tool, connected to 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi we achieved a speed of about 36 mbps, with the 5Ghz Wi-Fi network we reached about 81 mbps. Correct results, we recommend to use if possible the 5GHz band if we have it available.

In our Wi-Fi range tests with the device as always located at a distance of about 5m and with a wall in between we verified that we have connection without it stopping, the signal reaches a good level of about 55 dBm, a somewhat low result that tells us that we can not get away from our Wi-Fi router.

Bluetooth

Along with the Onda V10 4G’s Wi-Fi adapter we also have 4.0 Bluetooth connectivity with which we have no major problems when detecting other devices, we have tested some BT helmets and some BT gamepads without any problems.

PERFORMANCE TEST

SOC

As for processor performance on the Onda V10 4G tablet we have some surprising results, the Octa Core Mediatek MT6753 SoC with ARM Cortex-A53 processors  is a humble model and have correct performance that stands out above all in processes that take advantage of the multi-core feature. In the graphical section the GPU Mali-T720mp2 has a fairly basic performance, with the demanding games in 3D effects this GPU is fair and we can have frame drops. It is a processor as we see that it is oriented to the range of medium / low tablets and offers us performance for a basic use at the user level, to browse and view multimedia content with some casual gaming.

Benchmarks

Antutu

With this famous test we get an idea of the general performance of the device and we can compare it with others. Since this tests changes a lot of scale we can not use it in our graphics.

Geekbench 4

A new benchmark in SoC testing that offers fairly reliable numbers of CPU’s working in a single core or multiple cores ate the same time, it also has a section of GPU computing that gives us an overall result of the processing capacity.

3Dmark

The graphical performance test par excellence with a fairly solid continuity in the results which helps us to compare the performance of GPU’s historically.

PCMark

This benchmark tests the device in various scenarios of image processing, web browsing and other everyday uses of our device, the results are useful to check if you defend well in these areas.

Gamepad and games

In the micro-USB port of Onda V10 4G tablet we connected an Xbox 360 Gamepad and the device recognizes it without problems, it also works correctly the Xiaomi Bluetooth Gamepad if we configure it from system adjustments. We can use them in games with this type of support, in general we will not have problems with conventional PC controls. As we checked the Mali-T720mp2 GPU has limitations and we do not recommend installing powerful 3D games because they run quite slow.

VIDEO AND AUDIO TEST

Video format test

We performed usual video playback tests the Onda V10 4G tablet, a model that has the Mediatek MT6753 SoC that integrates a Mali-T720 GPU in the graphical section. We verified that it is a hardware designed for 1080p content and with the native player all files in 4K format give us incompatibility or other problems, this SoC does support decoding h.265 or VP9 codecs but we recommend limiting ourselves to files with maximum resolution 1080p and H.264 format as it is where it runs the best, this is the most universally extended format today.

Test results

H.264 formatDefault playerKODI
BBB – H.264 8bit – 1080p@25fps – 7 MbpsCorrectCorrect
Birds – H.264 8bit – 1080p@24fps – 40 MbpsCorrectCorrect
Samsung Oceanic Life – H.264  8bit– 1080p@30fps – 40 MbpsCorrectCorrect
Anime – H.264 10bit – 1080p@24fps – 10 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
Skyfall – H.264  8 bit – 4K@24fps – 10 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
Timelapse – H.264 8bit – 4K@24fps – 43 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
H.265 format
Tears of steel – HVEC 8bit – 1080p@24fps – 17 MbpsCorrectCorrect
Beauty – HVEC 8bit – 4K@120fps – 12 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
Anime – HVEC 10bit – 1080p@24fps – 21 MbpsNo compatibleArtifacts
Samsung UHD Dubai – HVEC 10bit – 4K@24fps – 51 MbpsNo compatibleNo compatible
HDR format
Life of Pi HDR –  HVEC – 4K@24fps – 45 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
TravelXP HDR HLG – HVEC – 4K@24fps – 20 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
Planet Earth II – HDR HLG – HVEC 10L5 – 4K@25fps – 31 MbpsNo compatibleFrame skip
  • The MKV, Blu-ray ISO and BDRemux formats are only containers, inside we can have different codecs, resolutions, audio channels, chapters or subtitles. To play the Blu-ray format menus we need KODI or a compatible program.

WEB NAVIGATION AND STREAMING

Navigation

We performed performance tests with the Onda V10 4G tablet using the default browser where we have no problems opening a good number of tabs thanks to its 2 GB of DDR3 RAM, we can switch between them in an agile way, only with content with a lot of images and videos we notice certain lag.

DRM

In the aspect of DRM certificates required for some paid streaming apps we have Microsoft Widevine L3 that gives us compatibility with some payment services, as something new we see that we have CENC ClearKey.

Youtube and streaming apps

We ran some streaming tests from Google Play installing some of the most common Streaming apps to watch TV online that we downloaded from the Play Store, we don’t have problems. This TV-Box can play Youtube up to 1080p without any issue with the version that comes installed by default.

Streaming services with subscription

We pass our battery of test as usual on the most popular streaming services to verified if can work correctly, the power of this device is more than enough to see any type of content on this services, although as we know we are limited on the streaming quality for the restrictions of each company.

Streaming serviceVideoAudioPerformance
NetflixSD (480p)*StereoCorrect
Amazon Prime VideoSD (480p)StereoCorrect
HBONot working

CONCLUSIONS

Onda V10 4G Octa core

6.8

DESIGN AND CONNECTIVITY

6.5/10

HARDWARE

7.5/10

SOFTWARE

6.5/10

SUPPORT

6.5/10

PRICE/QUALITY

7.0/10

Pros

  • Android 7
  • Good IPS Screen
  • 4G Modem
  • Thin bezels
  • Low cost

Cons

  • Poor cameras
  • Mono speakers

Opinion

After carrying out all the tests of our review on the Onda V10 4G tablet we can say that this is an interesting and economical product that counts with decent hardware. The IPS screen with 1920 × 1200 resolution gives us the right image quality to read or view multimedia content without problems, the 490g weight makes it very comfortable for transport, it also has some very adjusted side bezels, although it is not the most rigid construction we have seen.

A point to take into account if we are interested in the Onda V10 4G tablet are battery duration, as we have seen this a tablet to keep at home without moving further away from the power plug, although it allows us to use it for a considerable time it depends on the usage mode, the recharge is good if we use a good mobile charger since it doesn’t have one by default. As we see we are in front of a classic product within this price range so if we are looking for something with these characteristics and that also has a modem with Dual SIM cards, this is a well priced product and a interesting alternative to other expensive solutions.

Where to buy

  • Onda V10 4G Octa Core can be buy at Gearbest.com only for $113.99 with shipping costs included

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

1
Leave a Reply

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
amber powell Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of
amber powell
Guest
amber powell

I bought mine online and it says that it is not a vertfied device what doni neednto do? And am I suppose to have antutu on mine??? Please let me know what I need on I so I can get this done. Also I need help with setting up as my phone. I need know how to do it.if I need two sim cards. Can I use my recent one and can o use it I it doesn’t have the cover ibg it pops out around it. I put the sim in and it’s not working. Now at first it… Read more »

Scroll Up