REVIEW: Tanix TX28 a TV-Box with Rokchip RK3328 SoC and 4 GB of RAM

0
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.
Tanix TX28 is the Android TV-Box of which we present today its analysis or review, thanks to the collaboration of the online store Geekbuying. A device that has the popular RK3328 Quad Core SoC, a TV-Box with enough specifications to use it as a multimedia player and run the vast majority of Android apps. At the level of specifications, this TV-Box has 4GB of RAM and has 32GB of eMMC storage. Let’s see in our review how this hardware behaves and how it is regarding the competition.
  • Tanix TX28 can be purchased in Geekbuying.com only for $75,99 (€65) with free shipping.

PRODUCT DETAILS

ModelTanix TX28 
Basic SpecsSoC: RK3328 Quad Core Cortex A-53 / GPU Mali-450MP2 / 4x ARM-A53 @ 1.3GHz
System: Android 7.1.2 (64bit)
RAM and storage: 4 GB DDR3 – 32/64 GB eMMC
Network: Wifi b/g/n 2.4/5GHz – Bluetooth 4.1 – Ethernet 10/100
Ports: HDMI 2.0a 4K@60fps / AV Jack 3.5mm / 2x USB 2.0 / 1x USB 3.0 / microSD
Extras: Remote Control IR / Manual / Adapter DC 5V 2A / Manual English
Check full specifications

Description

The TV-Box Tanix TX28 have a box made of plastic that we have seen in other products, a box that has several ventilation slots and has an external wifi antenna.

  • Materials and measures: Plastic / 4 x 4 x 1.2 inches (105 x 105 x 26 mm / 0.5 lb (190 gr).
  • Package content: IR remote control / Manual / DC adapter 5V 2A / English manual.
  • Interfaces: HDMI 2.0a 4K@60fps / AV Jack 3.5mm / 2x USB 2.0 / 1x USB 3.0 / microSD / Reset on the rear zone.
  • Leds and panel: Frontal led status / Panel with current time
  • Remote control: The IR command is very simple and has a button for the primary functions. We can control remotely from our mobile or Android TV-Box the system using the Cetusplay app or connect a flymouse, mouse or keyboard.

In the lower part we have four rubber feet that hide the screws to remove the lid. In two of the sides of the box we have the audio, video and data connectors that we have listed in the specifications. In the box we have a small heatsink that comes in contact with an aluminium plate that serves as a heatsink at the top.

ANDROID SYSTEM

Environment and user experience

We turn on the Tanix TX28, it starts up automatically and the LED screen illuminates the front. Installed by default we have a simple launcher based on the classic frames that we can control with the IR remote control in a basic way. It is possible to run any app without problems thanks to the Quad Core RK3328 SoC and the 2GB of RAM, we must bear in mind that some leading games like PUBG are not available for this SoC. In the list of apps, if we leave pressed OK, we can access a secondary menu so that the app can be executed when the system is booted or uninstalled.

  • Launcher: Launcher based on squares, customizable lower row / We CAN’T change the launcher / Android UI rendered at 1080p.
  • Multitasking and access: Multi task leaving tight home button on the remote / We do not have bar access or Android notifications.
  • Installed apps: Apps for streaming, Google play, Netflix, AirScreen, Wifidisplay, RKMC and Youtube.
  • Languages: All the international Android classics.
  • On/Off Controls: Pressing the button to turn off the remote gives us a menu of Shutdown or Restart.

System, support and store apps

In the section of settings of the Tanix TX28 we have the classic side menu with all the usual settings, we also have a special section called Advance Settings with specific settings for the TV-Box. The system is Android 7.1.2 Oreo (64bit) with kernel 3.10.104 that seems quite stable in our tests.

  • System version: Android 7.1.2 (64 bit) with Kernel 3.10.104 (08-04-2018).
  • Apps store: Google Play working with all the apps available for the Android system.
  • Brand support: TANIX is the responsible brand but does not have support on the web for this model.
  • Root and scene: The system IS root. / There are no custom firmwares for this TV-Box.

HARDWARE TESTS

Storage and RAM Memory

We perform our usual memory tests and internal storage in the Tanix TX28 using the SD bench app. The results are correct, they are quite good for a low-cost TV-Box. Storage can not be expanded using the microSD card reader, there is no option in the system.

  • Storage: Total 32GB – Free 26GB. / No option to expand
  • RAM: Total 4GB – Free 3GB / DDR3L.
  • Compatible formats: NTFS compatible / exFAT no compatible
USB 2.0USB 3.0microSDSATA
Read / Write23/21 MB/s72/30 MB/s25/15 MB/s

WIFI and Bluetooth

In Wi-Fi connections, the Tanix TX28 TV-Box has a Wifi b/g/n 2.4/5GHz without Bluetooth with which we connect to an ASUS RT-AC1200G+ Router, a mid-range device. We perform tests on the use of streaming using the iPerf measurement tool to see the maximum performance of each network adapter.

  • Wifi speed results: Correct speed for this wifi adapter, quite stable.
  • Wifi range: At a distance of 5 meters with a wall we have a signal of 49 dBm, correct values.
  • Bluetooth: Version 4.1 that works normally.
  • We recommend reading our Tutorial SAMBA on Android networks if we are going to use files from our network PC.

Power consumption, temperature and noise

The Tanix TX28 TV-box using the SoC Rockhip RK3328 has correct results in terms of consumption. We are in front of a SoC of low consumption and these do not shoot much when using it with classic apps like Youtube or browsers.

We check the performance of the TV-Box in scenarios of maximum sustained performance and in its usual use, we use a stress app for fifteen minutes and thermal camera to detect hot areas. As we have seen the TV-Box has a large aluminum plate as a dissipator that fulfills its function well.

  • Loss of performance: the system maintains a maximum performance of 100%, there is no loss of performance.
  • Temperature: The upper part heats up although it does not affect the general use of the TV-Box.
  • Noise: Fanless system, 0db.

PERFORMANCE TEST

SOC

In the section of power the Tanix TX28 has acceptable results in the line of the RK3328 Quad Core Cortex-A53 SoC, in the graphic section the power of the Mali-450MP5 GPU is enough to move most games or Android apps, where it suffers is in the high load 3D titles. If we compare the results we can see how it falls below the powerful SoC Amlogic S912 and Rockchip RK3399 and surpasses the S905W model, in general, correct results that allow normal basic use.

Benchmarks

Games and gamepads

In the Android TV-Box Tanix TX28 we have the Rockchip RK3328 SoC that integrates a Mali-450MP5 GPU, this model allows us to correctly move most Android titles without performance problems and good compatibility. The games with a lot of 3D load are the ones that have frames drops in this GPU, so it is better to limit yourself to basic titles with little 3D load.

VIDEO AND AUDIO TEST

Video and audio connections

In the mediaplayer aspect the Tanix TX28 we have the Rockchip RK3328 SoC a product that has support for video output by HDMI 2.0a which allows maximum resolution up to 4K@60fps with HDR information. We do not have SPDIF optical audio output only AV stereo jack with video output for 480p TV’s.

Video playback test

We pass our video playback tests on the Android TV-Box Tanix TX28, a model that has the RK3328 SoC that integrates a VPU compatible with most modern video formats as we can see in the results.By default this TV-Box brings KODI in RKMC version that is outdated, we recommend installing the latest official version from Google Play, you have to install SuperSU and delete RKMC since it is an installed app as a system.

Test results

H.264 / VC-1Resultado
BBB – H.264 8bit – Simple@L1 – 1080p@25fps – 7 MbpsCorrect
Samsung Oceanic Life – H.264  8bit – High@L5.1 – 1080p@30fps – 40 MbpsCorrect
Timelapse – H.264 8bit – High@L5.1 – 4K@24fps – 43 MbpsCorrect
Anime – H.264 10bit – High 10@L5.1 – 1080p@24fps – 10 MbpsCorrect
MKV – VC-1 – Advance@L3 – 1080p@24fps – 17 MbpsCorrect
H.265 / VP9 SDR
Tears of steel – HVEC 8bit – Main@L6.2@Main – 1080p@24fps – 17 MbpsCorrect
Samsung UHD Dubai – HVEC 10bit – Main 10@L5.2@Main – 4K@24fps – 51 MbpsCorrect
Jellyfish – HVEC 10bit – Main 10@L6.1@High – 4K@30fps – 392 MbpsFrameskip
Anime – HVEC 10bit –  Main 10@L4@Main – 1080p@24fps – 21 MbpsFrameskip
Eye of the Storm – VP9 – 4K@24fps – 14 MbpsCorrect
H.265 / VP9 HDR
Life of Pi HDR10 –  HVEC 10bit – Main 10@L5.1@High – 4K@24fps – 45 MbpsCorrect
LG Demo – Dolby Vision – HVEC 12bit – Main 10@L5@Main – 4K@24fps – 30 MbpsCorrect
Planet Earth II – HDR HLG 10bit  – Main 10@L5@High – 4K@25fps – 31 MbpsCorrect
The world in HDR – VP9 Profile 2 10bit – 4K@60fps – 20 MbpsNot compatible
Peru 8K HDR – VP9 Profile 2 10bit – 8K@60fps – 20 MbpsNot compatible


Audio playback test

Testing the Tanix TX28 using a Yamaha RXV-577 AV receiver we check that they support DD 7.1 and DTS 5.1 pass through sound. Remember that you have to indicate the connector to use in audio settings so that it sends the signal to the decoder.

  • Ports: HDMI up to 7.1 / Audio jack stereo
  • Certification: None.

Audio test results

FormatsDD 5.1DD+ 7.1DD True 7.1DD Atms 7.1DTS 5.1DTS MA 5.1DTS HR 7.1DTS X 7.1
HDMIOKPCMCoreOK*OKCoreCoreCore*
SPDIF
  • PCM – Stereo only doing downmix from DD or DTS
  • Core – Only the core of the format is played back with what we passed to the Dolby / DTS base system
    * Our AV receiver does not support these native formats but we verify that it is played back to 7.1

Streaming services

We pass the classic tests on streaming services to see how the most popular services work. In this model does not have certificates for these services, also the lack of Android bars makes the UI is incompatible with several apps that works on other devices.

  • DRM: None
  • NOTE: We remind this product do not have official support for these streaming apps, the compatibility with these services can vary depends of any new limitations imposed for this companies. The tests are perform with the indicated firmware and the version of the streaming app at the date of the review.
Streaming serviceVideo QualityAudio QualityResult
YoutubeFullHD (1080p)StereoOK
Google Play MoviesHD (720p)StereoCorrect
NetflixSD (480p)StereoOK
HBOHD (720p)StereoPause icon in the center of the screen
Amazon Prime VideoDon’t work

CONCLUSIONS

Score

Tanix TX28 _

6.3

DESIGN AND CONNECTIVITY

7.5/10

HARDWARE

7.0/10

AUTONOMY

5.5/10

SUPPORT

6.0/10

PRICE/QUALITY

5.5/10

Pros

  • Good thermals
  • Stable
  • 4GB + 32GB
  • External wifi antenna
  • Wifi and eMMC works fine

Cons

  • Firmware with incompatibilities in some apps
  • The wifi antenna can not stand straight
  • No control bars on Android

Opinion

After review the TV-Box Tanix TX28 we can say that this is a classic low-cost model with some positive point. A box that has the generous figure of 4GB of RAM and 32GB storage quite fast that allow us to install quite a few apps, this is one of its highlights without a doubt. By default this model has a very basic IR remote control that maybe we are interested in changing to a flymouse or keyboard with a conventional mouse to improve the experience if we are going to make an advanced use.

The model Tanix TX28 does not stand out in many aspects, one positive point is his refrigeration system that although quite simple is effective and the aluminium plate that integrates manages to keep temperatures at bay. The addition of the external wifi antenna is adequate to improve the Wi-Fi reception but in our model it does not stand straight and it falls on its side, something that gives it a certain sadness. In the front we have a led panel that displays the current time and we can not turn it off. The firmware is stable but deficient in compatibility since some apps do not work well when missing the bars and elements of the necessary Android UI. In general a correct model within the low-cost models but that does not stand out in anything special, although not in anything negative.

WHERE TO BUY

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave a Reply

avatar

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of
Scroll Up