REVIEW: Magicsee N5 MAX with Amlogic S905X3 SoC and Ethernet Gigabit


Magicsee N5 MAX is a new Android TV-Box model of which we present today his review, a model that has the popular Amlogic S905X3 SoC, a chip that includes ARM Cortex-A55 CPU cores that replace the Cortex-A53 ARMs of the previous S905X2. This device has several hardware versions that differ in their internal storage, Wifi and RAM but all with the Android 9 Pie system, in general a valid product to consume any type of multimedia content. Let’s see in our review how this device behaves and how it defends itself against its rivals.

PRODUCT DETAILS

ModelMagicsee N5 MAX
Basic SpecsSoC: Amlogic S905X3 Quad Core 4x ARM-A55 @ 1.9GHz (64bit) / GPU Mali-G31 MP2 / 12nm
System: Android 9 Pie (32bit)
Ram, storage and network:
– 4GB RAM DDR3 + 32/64/128GB eMMC / Wifi ac Dual + BT 4.2 / Ethernet Gigabit
– 4GB RAM DDR3 + 32/64/128GB eMMC / Wifi a/b/g/n Dual + BT 4.1 (SP6330) / Ethernet 10/100 (Review)
– 2GB RAM DDR3 + 16GB eMMC / Wifi b/g/n / NO Bluetooth / Ethernet 10/100
Ports: HDMI 2.1 4K@75fps / Jack AV / SPDIF / 1x USB 2.0 / 1x USB 3.0 / MicroSD / Reset
Extras: IR remote / HDMI cable / Manual / DC 5V 2A adapter
Materials and measures: Plastic / Frontal LED panel / 105 x 105 x 23 mm / 200 gr.

Unboxing

The Magicsee N5 MAX comes in a standard cardboard box with a image of the device in the top, inside we found the TV-Box, IR remote, HDMI cable 4K@60fps compatible, Manual and a DC 5V 2A adapter.

Description

This model Magicsee N5 MAX is made in plastic and has a box design with lines and logo in the top face. On the front we have an LED display that indicates the time, on the sides and in the back area we have all the connectors in a classic configuration. This model includes a simple IR remote control that allows us to perform basic functions in apps like KODI but is limited for more complex ones.

Inside the audio jack we have the update button in case it is necessary to update the firmware. On the motherboard we can see the Wifi a/b/g/n Dual Band + Bluetooth 4.1 (SP6330) chip little known and has one internal Wi-Fi antenna, the 2GB model only mounts Wifi b/g/n without Bluetooth. The cooling system is simple, an aluminum heatsink attached to the SoC that as we will see fulfills its function.

  • Remote Control: Basic IR Remote with copy keys/ NO microphone / We can choose other alternatives.
  • Alternate control: Does not have its own control app / We can try Cetusplay in our smartphone.

SYSTEM AND PERFORMANCE

Environment and Android system

We tun on the Magicsee N5 MAX boots automatically, we arrive at a simple launcher based in squares, it is valid for use with the default remote, it has a upper rows that we can customize with the icons of the apps we want. The installed apps include AirScreen and Kodi, which is a version of KODI full of addons. The performance of Android 9 is good at the desktop level or with heavy apps and works stable and without forced app stops.

If we are going to play and make intensive use of this model we recommend buying the variant with 4GB of RAM, if we want to adjust our budget and we are only going to use it as a media player we may have enough with the 2GB model.

  • Launcher: As an alternative we have Pixel launcher to use mouse or Ugoos for IR control / Android UI rendering at 1080p.
  • Multitasking and access: Multitasking ONLY available in lowe bar / YES lower Android bar but NO upper bar.
  • Languages and Google Play: All the international Android classics / Google Play installed.
  • On/Off Controls: If we keep press the power button we have reset and power off option / Configurable in settings.
  • System version and root: Android 9 Pie (32 bit) / NO root by default / YES root menu / Build 2019-11-19 / Model N5MAX – 5MAX.
  • Support: Magicsee have a site with some firmware / Firmware available / Custom firmware not available yet.

Network, storage, RAM and ports

The model Magicsee N5 MAX has eMMC memory for internal storage and DDR3 RAM, it has two USB 3.0 port and SD card reader. In the network section it has a wireless adapter Wifi a/b/g/n Dual Band + Bluetooth 4.1 (SP6330) and Ethernet 10/100 port. As we can see in the tests the results are poor, the wifi does not reach decent speed figures although the range is normal for a model with an internal antenna. There is a version with Wifi aC and Gigabit Ethernet but we do not find it in stores, it would be more interesting than this.

  • Storage: Total 32GB  – Free 29GB / NTFS + exFAT compatible / Expandable with a USB or SD external memory.
  • RAM: Total 4GB – Free 3GB / DDR3.
  • Network: Low speed with one internal wifi antenna / Range 41dBm, fine. / Bluetooth OK.
  • We recommend reading our Tutorial SAMBA on Android networks if we are going to use files from our network PC.
USB 2.0USB 3.0microSDSATA
Read / Write21/17 MB/s101/37 MB/s20/19 MB/s

Power and performance

At the performance level the Magicsee N5 MAX has installed the Amlogic S905X3 a Quad Core SoC with ARM Cortex-A55 processors and in the graphic section a Mali-G31 MP2 GPU that is in the mid-range. This SoC is manufactured in 12nm, has a fairly low consumption but as we have seen the cooling system is basic and the temperatures are low all the time, the processor correctly scales the speeds so as not to overheat.

  • CPU performance: Min 500 MHz / Working  1ºC / Max 1,9 MHz
  • Thermals: Min. 40ºC / Working  56ºC / Max. 65ºC / Maintains performance up to 100% / Heat zone on the top / Noise 0db
  • Consumption: Off 0.6W / Min 3W / Working 4.2W / Max. 7.8W
  • Games and emulators: IS possible to play titles such as PUBG with low settings / Emulators up to Wii / NO Vulkan support.
  • Controls: Compatible with Gamepads by cable or bluetooth.

VIDEO AND AUDIO TEST

Video playback test

In the video playback aspect, the Magicsee N5 MAX features the Amlogic S905X3 SoC and a VPU Advanced Video Engine Gen10 compatible with most modern video formats such as h.265 and VP9 with 4K HDR native resolution or even 8K@60fps support, don’t have video quality settings. We can use players like KODI or PLEX without the slightest problem, the system comes by default with a version of KODI full of addons that we recommend uninstalling. At the audio level we can play DD and DTS sound up to 5.1 through the HDMI port. Check our Amlogic S905X3 SoC Comparison against all SoCs to see more details about A/V aspects of this SoC.

Video results

FormatsResult
h.264 / 1080i / 8bitFrameskip
h.264 / 1080p / 4K / 8bitOK
h.264 / 1080p / 10bit (anime)Frameskip (SW)
h.265 / 1080p / 8bitOK
h.265 / 1080p / 10bit (anime)OK
h.265 / 4K@24fps / 8bitOK
h.265 / 4K@60fps / 10bit HDROK
VP9 P1 / 4K@24fps / 8bitOK
VP9 P2 / 4K@60fps / 10bit HDROK
VP9 P2 / 8K@60fps / 10bit HDROK (only in KODI)
Max. Bitrate100 Mbps = 12,5 MB/s.
  • The maximum bitrate depends on the port used to connect or the limitations of SAMBA Networks.
  • SW = does not have hardware acceleration and may have have some frameskip in very heavy files.

Audio test results

FormatsDD / DTS 5.1DD+ / DTS MADD True / DTS HRDD Atmos / DTS X
HDMIOK / OKCoreCoreCore*
OpticalOK / OKCoreCoreCore*
  • PCM – Stereo only doing downmix from DD or DTS
  • Core – Only the core of the format is played back with what we passed to the Dolby / DTS base system
    * Our AV receiver does not support these native formats but we verify that it is played back to 7.1

Streaming services

In our usual tests with streaming services we see how the most popular services work. The Magicsee N5 MAX presents the classic configuration without certifications which limits us in quality in several streaming services, luckily if it is compatible with most services even if they are in its most basic quality of SD video

Streaming serviceVideo / AudioResultManual
YoutubeHD HDR (720p) / StereoOK
Google Play MoviesHD (720p) / StereoOK
NetflixSD+ (540p) / StereoOK, installing the apk with mouseNetflix on Android
HBOFullHD (1080p) / StereoOK, with mouseHBO on Android
Amazon Prime VideoSD (480p) / StereoOK, with mouseAmazon Prime video on Android
DAZNHD (720p) / StereoOK, with mouse
IPTVFullHD (1080p) / StereoOK

CONCLUSIONS AND BUY LINKS

Score

Magicsee N5 MAX

0.00
6.6

Design

6.5/10

Hardware

6.5/10

Conectivity

6.0/10

Support

7.0/10

Price

7.0/10

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Good thermals
  • Stable OS
  • Low Android navigation bar
  • Root selector and hardware monitor

Cons

  • Low Wifi speed
  • Notification bar don't work

Opinion

As we see in our analysis the TV-Box Magicsee N5 MAX is a low-cost model with its good points and not so good, a classic of this type of products that always have loose points. In this Android TV-Box we have the Amlogic S905X3 SoC that improves its CPU cores to the Cortex-A55 and updates its VPU with VP9 video support up to 8K. The GPU allows us to play powerful titles like PUBG although if we are going to play we recommend the 4GB model, the 2GB model we only recommend as a media player with KODI.

As for WiFi connectivity, the Magicsee N5 MAX has quite low performance with its adapter Wifi a/b/g/n Dual Band has limited speeds and its 10/100 Ethernet port is not the best to get the most out of our local network. With this model we also have a very basic IR control, we have a firmware with lower Android navigation bars, root selector and hardware monitor, the basic cooling system works correctly and we have no thermal problems.

In short, the Magicsee N5 MAX is a low-cost TV-Box with good and bad things, at the performance level we have no problems but the Wi-Fi adapter leaves enough to be desired in this version.

Where to buy

Add-ons

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

3 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Vlada

Very good,maybe the best buy,but…firmware is not good.

Gabriel

Nice review as always, can u do a review of the new Amazon fire tv cube 2nd generation? ty for the attention.